It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 9:53 pm



Reply to topic  [ 508 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41 ... 51  Next
The Sound City Amp Thread 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 5:36 pm
Posts: 360
Location: Trivelige Trøndelag
I did a full cap job on mine after I bought it and I don't regret it, worth the money. They were pretty old though.

_________________
There is geometry in the humming of the string


Fri Feb 17, 2012 4:02 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 5:36 pm
Posts: 360
Location: Trivelige Trøndelag
I also tried the jumper cable thing for the first time today, sounded massive. I was a bit curious about how it works, but it's just superposition I guess.

_________________
There is geometry in the humming of the string


Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:56 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Posts: 168
Andreas wrote:
I also tried the jumper cable thing for the first time today, sounded massive. I was a bit curious about how it works, but it's just superposition I guess.


by the way, and i dont know if this has been talked before, have any body really see the way the guy of electric wizard bridge some inputs of his sound city? if he have these inputs bridged during the gig of this pic means he had bridged the slave of the normal input with the brilliant input, right? anybody can say anything? ... that is really wrong, isnt it? but i dont think he changed it for the pic or something ....

if anybody have payed attention to this in some gig, please say! :)

Image

_________________
GANGRENED:
http://www.gangrened.org
GURE HITZAK:
http://www.gurehitzak.com
http://gurehitzak.blogspot.com
AMPLIFIER & FUZZ WORKSHIP OF DOO)))M FB GROUP:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1470494973183838
XEDH / IMBERNON
http://www.xedh.org/xedhimbernon


Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:17 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 3:41 am
Posts: 243
Location: Dublin
The slave input on a 120 is not a direct input to the power amp, it's just an input to the pre-amp with different gain.


Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:26 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Posts: 168
kxbx wrote:
The slave input on a 120 is not a direct input to the power amp, it's just an input to the pre-amp with different gain.


aha... well i heard exactly that, that the slave input is connected direct to the power amp, so anybody can say whats the sense and sound into bridge the slave and one input, for example like the guy of electric wizard (slave of normal with brillian input)

anybody who owns a sound city can say the differences between bridge slave and input with using both inputs (brilliat and normal) togheter?

_________________
GANGRENED:
http://www.gangrened.org
GURE HITZAK:
http://www.gurehitzak.com
http://gurehitzak.blogspot.com
AMPLIFIER & FUZZ WORKSHIP OF DOO)))M FB GROUP:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1470494973183838
XEDH / IMBERNON
http://www.xedh.org/xedhimbernon


Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:37 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Posts: 168
well, acording to the schematics the slave input is connected with the power amp ....
http://www.soundcitysite.com/sc_webpages/sc_120_1.jpg

_________________
GANGRENED:
http://www.gangrened.org
GURE HITZAK:
http://www.gurehitzak.com
http://gurehitzak.blogspot.com
AMPLIFIER & FUZZ WORKSHIP OF DOO)))M FB GROUP:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1470494973183838
XEDH / IMBERNON
http://www.xedh.org/xedhimbernon


Fri Mar 02, 2012 12:27 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:50 pm
Posts: 2233
Location: Sound City, Bristol
No it doesn't, fucksake, it goes to the same gain stages as the other inputs.

Edit: Reverb return is the bit that goes to power amp.

_________________
New tune: https://soundcloud.com/oli-foxen/warrio ... vseht-demo
Band: https://www.facebook.com/warriorpope?fref=ts
Blog: https://ampstack.wordpress.com
Old tune: http://caricatures.bandcamp.com/


Fri Mar 02, 2012 12:28 am
Profile

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Posts: 168
Mr. Foxen wrote:
No it doesn't, fucksake, it goes to the same gain stages as the other inputs.

Edit: Reverb return is the bit that goes to power amp.


ah sorry oli, i missunderstood then ...

_________________
GANGRENED:
http://www.gangrened.org
GURE HITZAK:
http://www.gurehitzak.com
http://gurehitzak.blogspot.com
AMPLIFIER & FUZZ WORKSHIP OF DOO)))M FB GROUP:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1470494973183838
XEDH / IMBERNON
http://www.xedh.org/xedhimbernon


Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:40 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Posts: 168
anybody have had problems of lack of bright or "colour" in the tone?

i think that happens to mine, sounds like the trebble and presence dont do much, pedals sounds like shit, and also i would swear there should be some more pre amp hiss ... maybe this is related. all tubes and caps are new, many resistors changed, also bias cap and some other caps,... but still happens this .... and jumping channels dont helps much ....

any idea?

_________________
GANGRENED:
http://www.gangrened.org
GURE HITZAK:
http://www.gurehitzak.com
http://gurehitzak.blogspot.com
AMPLIFIER & FUZZ WORKSHIP OF DOO)))M FB GROUP:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1470494973183838
XEDH / IMBERNON
http://www.xedh.org/xedhimbernon


Thu Mar 08, 2012 3:31 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:40 pm
Posts: 14156
Location: Halfway down the u-bend. Knock thrice and wipe.
gure hitzak wrote:
kxbx wrote:
The slave input on a 120 is not a direct input to the power amp, it's just an input to the pre-amp with different gain.


aha... well i heard exactly that, that the slave input is connected direct to the power amp, so anybody can say whats the sense and sound into bridge the slave and one input, for example like the guy of electric wizard (slave of normal with brillian input)

anybody who owns a sound city can say the differences between bridge slave and input with using both inputs (brilliat and normal) togheter?

All I know is that if you arrange it the way Jus does and turn the volume knobs up to 10 on both channels it sounds fucking beautiful but it's just too loud for most practice spaces, you get really uncontrollable feedback unless you're standing a good distance away. OK, I know this is obvious, but there are differing degrees in my (granted not very professional) opinion. You can roll off the high-end to save your eardrums but unless you're playing a massive venue or in the studio it need to be used in moderation to have any control.

_________________
Image
^Click for Primitive Doom Metal - 7" and Split 12" with Horse Latitudes out now
TRADE/SALE


Thu Mar 08, 2012 3:37 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 508 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41 ... 51  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software